I am a fourth year PhD student at the Mathematical Institute of the University of Bonn under the supervision of Carl-Friedrich Bödigheimer, in the area of algebraic topology. I am funded by the Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in Bonn and am a member of the International Max Planck research school (IMPRS) on moduli spaces.

Research interests

My PhD project deals with coloured topological operads and their algebras, configuration spaces, and the phenomenon of homological stability, as well as mapping class groups, moduli spaces of Riemann surfaces and their homology.

More recently, I have been studying low-dimensional equivariant and parametrised cobordism categories and their homotopy type.

My co-authors are Andrea Bianchi from the University of Copenhagen and Jens Reinhold from the University of Münster.

Teaching

In the summer term 2020, I co-organised a graduate seminar on Operads in Algebra and Topology together with Andrea Bianchi. Moreover, I have been tutor for the following topology lectures:

summer 2021 Algebraic Topology 2 Carl-Friedrich Bödigheimer
winter 2020/21 Algebraic Topology 1 Carl-Friedrich Bödigheimer
summer 2020 Algebraic Topology 2 Christoph Winges
winter 2019/20 Algebraic Topology 1 Wolfgang Lück
summer 2019 Topology 2 Daniel Kasprowski
winter 2018/19 Topology 1 Wolfgang Lück
summer 2018 Geometrie und Topologie Wolfgang Lück

Preprints

  • Parametrised moduli spaces of surfaces as infinite loop spaces

    12/05/2021, arXiv:2105.05772, with Andrea Bianchi and Jens Reinhold

    We study the E2-algebra \(\Lambda\mathfrak{M}\) consisting of free loop spaces of moduli spaces of Riemann surfaces with one parametrised boundary component, and compute the homotopy type of the group completion \(\Omega B\Lambda\mathfrak{M}\): it is the product of \(\Omega^\infty\mathbf{MTSO}(2)\) with a certain free \(\Omega^\infty\)-space depending on the family of all boundary-irreducible mapping classes in all mapping class groups \(\Gamma_{g,n}\) with \(g\geqslant 0\) and \(n\geqslant 1\).

  • Configuration spaces of clusters as Ed-algebras

    06/04/2021, arXiv:2104.02729

    It is a classical result that configuration spaces of labelled particles in \(\mathbb{R}^d\) are free algebras over the little \(d\)-cubes operad, and their d-fold bar construction is equivalent to the \(d\)-fold suspension of the labelling space. The aim of this paper is to study a variation of these spaces, namely the configuration space of labelled clusters of points in \(\mathbb{R}^d\). This configuration space is again an Ed-algebra, but in general not a free one. We give geometric models for their iterated bar construction in two different ways: one uses an additional verticality constraint, and the other one uses a description of these clustered configuration spaces as cellular E1-algebras. In the last section, we show a stable splitting result and present some applications.

  • Vertical configuration spaces and their homology

    22/03/2021, arXiv:2103.12137, with Andrea Bianchi

    We introduce ordered and unordered configuration spaces of ‘clusters’ of points in an Euclidean space \(\mathbb{R}^d\), where points in each cluster have to satisfy a ‘verticality’ condition, depending on a decomposition \(d=p+q\). We compute the homology in the ordered case and prove homological stability in the unordered case.

  • Moduli spaces of Riemann surfaces and symmetric products: A combinatorial description of the Mumford–Miller–Morita classes

    25/09/2018, PDF (911 kiB)

    This is my master’s thesis which was finished in the summer term 2018. Its main result is a Poincaré–Lefschetz correspondene between the Mumford–Miller–Morita classes in the cohomology of moduli spaces and certain simplicial subcomplexes of Bödigheimer’s model of parallel slit domains.

Selected talks

  • Homotopy coherent multiplications and loop spaces

    05/11/2020, PDF (1.1 MiB)

    These are the notes of a talk I gave in the winter term 2020/21 in our IMPRS seminar at the MPI. They tell a classical story about H-spaces, loop spaces, and May’s recognition principle.

  • An introduction to model categories

    10/06/2020, PDF (1.3 MiB)

    In summer 2020, the first ‘corona term’, I gave an introductory talk on model categories in our IMPRS seminar. It was the first in a series of four talks and essentially covers the first chapter of Hovey’s book on the topic.

FK Contact details

Mathematical Institute
Office 4.020
Endenicher Allee 60
53115 Bonn
Germany

PGP Public Key (0xD2890F65)

Upcoming events
  • CdE-MusikAkademie 2022
    Landesmusikademie Ochsenhausen
    21/3/2022 – 30/3/2022
  • My defence
    University of Bonn
    around April
  • Young Topologists Meeting 2022
    University of Copenhagen
    18/7/2022 – 22/7/2022

Ich bin Doktorand im vierten Jahr am Mathematischen Institut der Universität Bonn im Bereich der Algebraischen Topologie und werde von Carl-Friedrich Bödigheimer betreut. Ich werde finanziert vom Max-Planck-Institut für Mathematik in Bonn bin dort ein Mitglied der International Max Planck research school (IMPRS), die sich mit Modulräumen beschäftigt.

Forschungsinteressen

Mein Dissertationsvorhaben beschäftigt sich mit gefärbten Operaden und ihren Algebren, Konfigurationsräumen und dem Phänomen der homologischen Stabilität sowie Abbildungsklassengruppen, Modulräumen von Riemannschen Flächen und deren Homologie.

In letzter Zeit untersuche ich außerdem verschiedene niedrigdimensionale äquivariante und parametrisierte Kobordismuskategorien und ihren Homotopietyp.

Meine Koautoren sind Andrea Bianchi von der Universität Kopenhagen und Jens Reinhold von der Universität Münster.

Lehre

Im vergangenen Sommersemester 2020 habe ich gemeinsam mit Andrea Bianchi ein Masterseminar über Operads in Algebra and Topology organisiert. Darüber hinaus war ich Tutor für folgende Topologievorlesungen:

SoSe 2021 Algebraic Topology 2 Carl-Friedrich Bödigheimer
WiSe 2020/21 Algebraic Topology 1 Carl-Friedrich Bödigheimer
SoSe 2020 Algebraic Topology 2 Christoph Winges
WiSe 2019/20 Algebraic Topology 1 Wolfgang Lück
SoSe 2019 Topology 2 Daniel Kasprowski
WiSe 2018/19 Topology 1 Wolfgang Lück
SoSe 2018 Geometrie und Topologie Wolfgang Lück

Preprints

  • Parametrised moduli spaces of surfaces as infinite loop spaces

    12.05.2021, arXiv:2105.05772, mit Andrea Bianchi und Jens Reinhold

    Wir untersuchen die E2-Algebra \(\Lambda\mathfrak{M}\), bestehend aus freien Schleifenräumen von Modulräumen Riemannscher Flächen mit einer parametrisierten Randkurve, und ermitteln den Homotopietyp der Gruppenvervollständigung \(\Omega B\Lambda\mathfrak{M}\): dies ist das Produkt von \(\Omega^\infty\mathbf{MTSO}(2)\) mit einem gewissen freien \(\Omega^\infty\)-Raum, der von der Familie aller randirreduziblen Abbildungsklassen in allen Abbildungsklassengruppen \(\Gamma_{g,n}\) mit \(g\geqslant 0\) und \(n\geqslant 1\) abhängt.

  • Configuration spaces of clusters as Ed-algebras

    06.04.2021, arXiv:2104.02729

    Es ist ein klassiches Resultat, dass Konfigurationsräume von beschrifteten Partikeln im \(\mathbb{R}^d\) freie Algebren über der Kleinen-d-Würfel-Operade sind und ihre \(d\)-fache Barauflösung homotopieäquivalent zur \(d\)-fachen Einhängung des Beschriftungsraums ist. In diesem Paper untersuchen wir eine Variation dieser Räume: den Konfigurationsraum von beschrifteten Scharen („clusters“) von Punkten im \(\mathbb{R}^d\). Dieser Konfigurationsraum ist wieder eine Ed-Algebra, aber im Allgemeinen keine freie. Wir konstruieren geometrische Modelle für ihre iterierten Barauflösungen auf zwei unterschiedliche Weisen: Die erste nutzt eine zusätzliche vertikale Kopplungsbedingung und die andere beschreibt die gescharten Konfigurationsräume als zelluläre E1-Algebren. Im letzten Abschnitt zeigen wir eine stabile Spaltungsaussage und präsentieren einige Anwendunge

  • Vertical configuration spaces and their homology

    22.03.2021, arXiv:2103.12137, mit Andrea Bianchi

    Hier führen wir den Begriff von geordneten und ungeordneten Konfigurationsräumen von „Scharen“ von Punkten im einem euklidischen Raum \(\mathbb{R}^d\), wobei Punkte der selben Schar eine „Ver­ti­ka­li­täts­be­din­gung“ erfüllen, die von einer Zerlegung \(d=p+q\) abhängt. Wir berechnen die Homologie im geordneten Fall und zeigen eine homolgische Stabilitätsaussage im ungeordneten Fall.

  • Moduli spaces of Riemann surfaces and symmetric products: A combinatorial description of the Mumford–Miller–Morita classes

    25.09.2018, PDF (911 kiB)

    Dies ist meine Masterarbeit, die ich im Sommersemester 2018 fertiggestellt habe. Das Hauptergebnis ist eine Poin­caré-Lefschetz-Korrespondenz zwischen den Mumford-Miller-Morita-Klassen in der Kohomologie der Modulräume und gewissen simplizialen Unterkomplexen in Bödigheimers Modell der Parallelschlitzgebiete.

Ausgewählte Vorträge

  • Homotopy coherent multiplications and loop spaces (englisch)

    05.11.2020, PDF (1,1 MiB)

    Dies sind die Notizen eines Vortrages, den ich im Wintersemester 2020/21 im IMPRS-Seminar am MPI gehalten habe. Sie erzählen eine klassische Geschichte über H-Räume, Schleifenräume und Mays „Recognition principle“.

  • An introduction to model categories (englisch)

    10.06.2020, PDF (1,3 MiB)

    Im Sommersemester 2020, dem ersten „Coronasemester“, habe ich einen einführenden Vortrag über Modellkategorien im zuvorgenannten IMPRS-Seminar gehalten. Dies war der erste in einer Reihe von vier Vorträgen und er bespricht im Wesentlichen das erste Kapitel aus Hoveys Buch.

FK Kontakt

Mathematisches Institut
Büro 4.020
Endenicher Allee 60
53115 Bonn

Öffentlicher PGP-Schlüssel (0xD2890F65)

Kommende Veranstaltungen
  • CdE-MusikAkademie 2022
    Landesmusikademie Ochsenhausen
    21.03.2022 – 30.03.2022
  • Meine Verteidigung
    Universität Bonn
    im April
  • Young Topologists Meeting 2022
    Universität Kopenhagen
    18.07.2022 – 22.07.2022